Floral Still-life

Floral Still’life – acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval

This week, I decided to paint an interior space with a lovely flower arrangement my good friend brought for me to a lunch gathering we had out on my back porch. It was beautiful and brought me joy for over two weeks while I was down in the kitchen.

I worked on Floral Still-life for almost two weeks, playing with all the details. The view is from our kitchen into the dining room with the back doors opening to our sceened porch. One of the best things we did after buying our house as a fixer upper was to put in the double doors along with adding a screened porch. It’s especially wonderful during the warm weather; our cats hang out there daily.

I enjoy painting interior spaces, it makes for dramatic compositions and here I also used high contrast between the lights and darks. In the painting above the dining table, you can see a small framed painting of our kitty lounging on the porch. The flowers were a challange, getting the whites to work took time. I’m fairly pleased.

6 thoughts on “Floral Still-life

Leave a comment