Two Soaring Doves

Two Soaring Doves – acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval

Two Soaring Doves is my most recent painting. I started painting an abstract in August and then sat with it for awhile. Once September arrived I thought to add a white dove in honor of the International Day of Peace.  I had done several white dove paintings in the past for the occasion. It had been a couple of years since I’d done one; this time, I decided to paint two white doves together within the larger space.

International Peace Day is observed around the world each year on September 21st. It was established in 1981 by a United Nations resolution. “Peace Day provides a globally shared date for all humanity to commit to Peace above all differences and to contribute to building a Culture of Peace.”

I enjoyed painting both the abstract background and the two doves. Even though it seems more and more crazy out there lately, somehow, I feel that soon things will flip, and more peaceful solutions will come as we all get tired of the distractions that keep us apart.

The weather is beautiful here, still hot but cooler days are coming. Fall is just days away. Enjoy the new season.

11 thoughts on “Two Soaring Doves

Leave a comment