Flowing Hair Liberty

lady-liberty-1000
Flowing Hair Liberty – acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval

In the last few months I have been sorting through my father’s coin collection.  Most of the coins are from the United States, including  several early American ones.  What struck me is that the early coins all have the image of Lady Liberty on them.  One of the earliest  from the 1700’s is named the  Flowing Hair Liberty.  There is another later coin where she is walking with the sun rising behind her. These Liberty coins are all very beautiful to me.   Lady Liberty symbolized the freedom from tyranny – a nation free from cruel and oppressive government rulers.   Her image stopped appearing on coins starting in the 1930’s as presidents and other male figures took her place.

With the shock that went through the world last week as it dawned on all that Trump had won the United States presidential election, it got me thinking about Lady Liberty.   My ancestors fought for freedom in the Revolutionary war and I don’t know what they would think about our current time period.  I feel we need a new revolution, one where we unite and heal our differences and work toward a future where all can thrive, including the beautiful planet that we live on.

Flowing Hair Liberty  is the result of these feelings I have.

5 thoughts on “Flowing Hair Liberty

  1. This is so beautiful, and I agree, we need a revolution, and it has begun! May it remain peaceful as we evolve in consciousness and also ascend physically to become light beings in the flesh.

Leave a Reply

