Happy Birthday Beverly!

Beverly's Irises with Adele's Kitties
Beverly’s Irises with Adele’s Kitties – Acrylic Painting by Heni Sandoval

Yesterday was my wonderful next door neighbor Beverly’s 90th birthday. She has ten  children and all of her children and their children and great grandchildren are in to town to celebrate this big occasion with her.  Today there is a birthday luncheon  in honor of Beverly at a country club.  They were sweet to invite me and I’m looking forward to seeing all of her extended family.  Beverly is still going strong and lives with her daughter Adele.  Through the years we have lived here they both have been so sweet and supportive of us and especially of my daughter.  This has meant a lot to me since we don’t have family here and my parents passed away before my girl could get to know them.

I wanted to do something special for Beverly for her birthday so when I found out her favorite flower is the purple iris, I decided to do a still life and also include their two cats, Zig and Zag.  The colorful wall hanging behind Zag is one of Adele’s quilts.  She and her mom share a love of sewing;  their downstairs room filled with sewing machines and they have various creative projects going on all the time.

They have also supported me by buying prints of my art over the years.  I wanted them to have an original painting just for them.  Happy Birthday Beverly!

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Beverly!

    1. Thank you Melissa, yes it was really special seeing all Beverly’s loved ones there celebrating with her. The luncheon was in a beautiful setting: it will be a great memory for all the children and grandchildren.

    1. Yes, I gave it to Beverly last week, she and Adele were touched. That made me very happy. Yes, I do, I’ve been very distracted lately and the painting helped me focus and it was fun creating a painting that they would both like, especially trying to capture Zig and Zag’s personalities. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

