Mexican Madonna

Mexican Madonna acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval
Mexican Madonna Holding a White Dove – acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval

In December I was inspired to paint Mother Mary;  I’ve painted her three times now.  In this painting I wanted to capture the kind loving acceptance of a Mexican Mother Mary.   My husband and I lived in Oakland California for a while and at that time I began to notice when riding the subway into San Fransisco that I started to gravitate to sitting near Hispanics.  They just didn’t seem to be as uptight as everyone else;  it felt peaceful to sit near them.   In my life I was always striving and I tended to be hard on myself.  My husband, who has Hispanic blood, is a hard worker but has always been easier on himself.  I have learned in life that accepting yourself is an important key.   It seems to me cultures and families who honor the loving mother archetype provide a space for inner peace.

Available here.

Leave a Reply

