Still Life for Mom

Iris in a Blue Vase - acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval
Iris Still Life – acrylic painting by Heni Sandoval

Today is my Mom’s birthday so she has been on my mind.  She died a few years back right before I started painting.  She loved my papier mache bowls and was very supportive of my artistic ventures.  I wish she could have seen my paintings.  Each year I do a painting with my Mom in thought, mainly still lifes.  Iris Still Life is one that is full of her presence.   Almost every object in the painting once belonged to her.  She loved antiques and the color blue.  She also loved to garden and had a flower and herb garden.  My dad built her a white picket fence that served as  a backdrop to all her colorful flowers.  From early spring through fall flowers graced our kitchen table.  I grew up surrounded in beauty and perhaps that’s one reason I’ve become an artist.   Thank you Mom!

Available here

One thought on “Still Life for Mom

Leave a Reply

