Pig and Roses

Pig and Roses

I had fun with this painting and I got a kick out of titling it Pig and Roses, a take off of the band, Guns and Roses.  It makes me laugh every time I see the title.  My husband and I have inside joke about pigs so over the years we’ve accumulated somewhat of a pig collection.  This angel pig is painted from a small concrete pig that I picked up at Pier One.  I love his happy expression and have painted him in many directions. 

The roses are decorative touch that I sometimes add to my paintings.  It is a wink to my earlier work as a papier mache artist where I made brightly colored papier mache bowls onto which I painted decorative elements.  The rose bowl design  pictured below was very popularI think people liked the old fashion quality of them.  I added roses to the painting as roses symbolize love that this happy angel pig feels.

Dreamtime Roses Bowl

Pig prints available here.

4 thoughts on “Pig and Roses

    1. Thanks for your compliment! I paint with acrylics on watercolor paper. I sell prints of this piggy and others on my online Etsy shop. You can get the links to my shops by clicking on my etsy page. I love roses too, your blog has a lot of helpful information!

Leave a Reply

