Free Falling

Free Falling

Sometimes in life when we have big decisions to make, it can be scary.  Like the time in my twenties after a bad break up, I decided to move to NYC with only 500 dollars in my pocket.

These thoughts have come to mind as I have recently celebrated being married to my husband for 20 years now and am feeling happy about that.  That 20th year anniversary marker got me thinking about the choices we make in life and how those choices carry us forward.    It was scary for me to make that marriage commitment all those years ago. When I found out I was pregnant, even though we had decided to have a child it was frightening, I didn’t know how to be a mom.

Once those decisions were made I just had to let go and trust that my intuition would carry me forward.  I loved living in New York, that experience led to meeting my husband.  Marrying him led us to creating a life together and then to our daughter who we love dearly and who has added so much to our lives.

I wanted to do a painting that describes that feeling.  I’ve titled it Free Falling.  It’s a painting of a barn swallow diving through the air.  If you have ever watched  swallows swoop through the air catching mosquitoes, it is mesmerizing.  They swoop down and then curve back through the sky with no effort at all.   I have found that once a commitment is made if we let go and trust, we can follow the currents and they will lead us forward.

Print Available here.

3 thoughts on “Free Falling

Leave a Reply

